Frederick County Sustainability Commission

Long-term, community sustainability is not achievable without the investment and collaborative spirit of residents, businesses, schools, volunteer groups, non-profits, and government agencies. There are simply too many roles for 1 individual or organization to fill; a community-wide commitment is needed to make substantial contributions toward our goals.

In order to engage the community and learn from the diversity of voices present in Frederick County, the County established the Sustainability Commission in 2009. The commission provides a community-based perspective on issues related to sustainability and guides the development of a Frederick County Sustainability Plan.
  • 3 - 5 p.m.
  • 3rd Wednesday of the month
  • All meetings are open to the public
  • Winchester Hall -  3rd Floor
  • Tom Anderson, Chair
  • Susan Weber, Vice Chair
  • Robert Black  
  • Annie Jones
  • Tim Jones
  • Ron Kaltenbaugh 

  • Christian May
  • Joe Richardson 
  • Michael Swanson
  • Mike Uecker
  • Chris Voell

Recent Events
"Toward a More Sustainable Frederick County" - October 16, 2015. 

The Frederick County Sustainability Commission and Frederick Community College Institute for Learning in Retirement sponsored "Toward a More Sustainable Frederick County" on the 16th of October.  Participants learned about electric vehicles, solar energy, the future of the County's waste, the important role of streamside forest buffers, home energy efficiency, and other forward-thinking topics from subject matter experts.   The presentations are available to view here.