2014 Sustainability Awards

About the Awards
The Frederick County Sustainability Commission's Sustainability Awards are presented annually to 1 employee of Frederick County government, 1 unit of Frederick County government, and 1 member of the general public who lives or works in Frederick County that have made an outstanding contribution in helping Frederick County advance sustainability efforts.

Awards will be given based on demonstrated leadership, innovation and success in sustainability.

Eligibility & Process
The annual sustainability awards program is an internal and external initiative open to all people who live or work in Frederick County. Awardees are nominated by themselves or others.

Applications are reviewed by the Frederick County Sustainability Commission, which will select 3 awardees at the April 16 meeting in time for Earth Day. County staff and office nominations are measured against the county’s Sustainable Action Plan. Members of the community are evaluated on impact to community sustainability indicators that include improvements to air and water quality, energy efficiency and renewable energy, green building, resource conservation, sustainable economic development, and community engagement. Awards are to be given by the Board of County Commissioners at their meeting on May 8. Awardees will be notified in advance. Awards are honorary and do not include monetary recognition.