Click to Home

Go To Search
FacebookTwitterFind & Follow
Engineering & Planning
Department Functions
As a department under the Division of Utilities and Solid Waste Management (DUSWM), numerous important functions are performed relating to the planning, design and construction of all County-owned water, sanitary sewer and solid waste infrastructure. The larger water infrastructure components include water treatment plants, water booster pumping stations, transmission mains, water storage tanks, and distribution mains. The larger wastewater infrastructure components include wastewater treatment plants, wastewater pumping stations, interceptors, collection systems and treated effluent outfall sewers.

All water and sewer infrastructure is planned and designed in conformity with the Frederick County Comprehensive Plan and the appropriate respective Region Plans, i.e., Frederick, Walkersville, New Market, Urbana, Adamstown, Brunswick, Middletown and Thurmont. DUSWM provides water and sewer service within certain areas bounded and identified in the respective Region Plans, as 20-year water and sewer service areas.

In addition to the Comprehensive Plan and Region Plans, DUSWM infrastructure must be planned in concert with the Water and Sewer Plan. These documents are prepared and administered by the County's Planning and Zoning Department.
4520 Metropolitan Court
Frederick, MD 21704

Ph: (301) 600-2078
Fax: (301) 600-2349
TDD:(301) 600-1672

Staff Directory

7:30 am - 4:30 pm Monday – Friday

Building Hours
8:00 am – 4:00 pm Monday – Friday

Otherwise, by appointment only.

The water and sewer infrastructure must be planned and constructed to accommodate projected growth contained within these plans.

Large Infrastructures
Large infrastructure needs are planned and executed via the County's Capital Improvement Program (CIP). Smaller infrastructure, i.e., sewage collection and water distribution mains, is customarily provided by developers on land planned to be served by public water and sewer. The planning, design and construction of the smaller infrastructure is managed through various standards administered by DUSWM.

Municipal water and sewer infrastructure, such as, the City of Frederick, Town of Walkersville, Thurmont, Emmitsburg, Middletown, Myersville, Woodsboro, City of Brunswick and Mt. Airy are not affiliated with DUSWM, and own and operate their own respective water and sewer systems.

DUSWM is not affiliated with or related to any private utilities, e.g., cable television, electric, natural gas, telephone, storm water drainage, storm water management facilities, etc. Questions relating to these types of utilities should be directed to the appropriate company, County agency or municipality.