Annual tax bills are due September 30th. A discount of 1% is given for payments received in July and a discount of ½% is given for payments received in August.
The first semi-annual installment is due September 30th. The second semi-annual installment is due December 31st. A discount of 1% is given for payments received in July and a discount of ½% is given for payments received in August.
Supplemental bills are mailed in August. They will include property transfers that occurred in June as well as credits that were issued by the State after the July billing. Supplemental and revised tax bills are due 30 days from the time of issue.
Please note that failure to receive a tax bill does not relieve taxpayers of their obligation to pay the tax bill.
Pursuant to Maryland Law, tax payments must be made on or before the due date to avoid interest and penalty charges. Payments received via the U.S. Postal Service that are postmarked by the last calendar day of the month will be credited to the account as of the postmark date. Payments made in person at the Treasury Department office must be made by the close of business on the last business day of the month to be credited to the account as received in that month. Electronic payments must be entered into the online payment system of the County as of midnight on the last day of the month to be credited as received in that month. Interest will begin to accrue on unpaid accounts on October 1st at a rate of 1% per month.
New Construction Bills
In the case of new homes, most often the developer pays the land bill only (i.e., the unimproved portion of your property) since the State Assessment office may not have assessed the dwelling (i.e., your home or the improvement portion of your property). In these cases there is a New Construction bill. New Construction bills are based on when the state assesses the dwelling. The supplemental bills will be in the form of a half year bill, which covers the period January 1st - June 30th.
These New Construction bills are mailed only to the homeowner (these bills are not sent to the lender) and are due within 30 days. If the homeowner escrows their taxes and would like the lender to pay the new construction bill, the homeowner must send the tax bill to the lender.
After the State Assessment office makes an adjustment to an assessment, the homeowner will receive a revised tax bill that reflects those changes (these bills are not sent to the lender). If the homeowner escrows their taxes and would like the lender to pay a revised bill, the homeowner must send the tax bill to the lender.
By Credit Card
Frederick County has partnered with Govolution to facilitate credit and debit card payments. The merchant card processor assesses a service fee each time a credit or debit card is used. Payments by credit and debit cards are assessed a service fee of 2.5% of the property tax payment amount. Frederick County receives no money from this service fee.
Payments can be made online at www.frederickcountymd.gov/. Under Online Payments click on Real Estate Taxes Inquiry and Payment. If you encounter problems with your credit or debit transaction, please contact the Treasury Department at 301-600-1111.
To Pay By Mail
Frederick County Treasury Department
30 North Market Street
Frederick, Maryland 21701
To Pay In Person
Payments to the County may be made at the Treasurer's Office located at 30 North Market Street in Frederick. Hours of operation are 8:00 am - 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday. Accepted forms of payment are cash, checks, money orders, credit and debit cards (a service fee of 2.5% will be added to all credit and debit card transactions).
For Lenders there is a Mass Payment Option
Lenders, if you are interested in the Mass Payment Process, please contact our billing office at (301) 600-1111.
Tax Lien Sale Redemption by Owners
The owner or other person having an estate or interest in the property sold has the right to redeem the property tax lien at any time until the right of redemption is finally foreclosed by an order of the Circuit Court (Section 14-827). During this period of redemption, the owner of the property has the right to continue in possession of and to exercise all rights of ownership until such time as the right of redemption is foreclosed (Section 14-830).
To redeem a property tax lien, the owner shall: