Click to Home

Go To Search
FacebookTwitterFind & Follow
Charter Board
We the People of Frederick CountyOverview
The Frederick Board of County Commissioners selected nine members for the Frederick County Charter Board along with three alternates on Thursday, March 10, 2011.

Nine Appointed Charter Board Members
Fred Anderson, Joan Aquilino, Debra Borden, Dr. Tom Browning, Ken Coffey, Jeff Holtzinger, Mayor James Hoover, Bob Kresslein, Rocky Mackintosh

Alternate Members
Doug Browning, Dana French, Earl Robbins

The Charter Board was authorized to create a charter for Frederick County to change the present form of government.  The Charter Board had up to 18 months to draft a charter for submission to the Board of County Commissioners and then for a referendum election by the voters of Frederick County.  The proposed charter is will go before the voters for possible ratification at the November 6, 2012 General Election. 

The Charter of Frederick County is a document that will change the present commissioner form of government to charter home rule government if approved by the voters.  The proposed charter document defines the duties, power, rules, procedures, structure of local county government, and the rights of our voters/citizens.

Additional documents and useful links will be updated to this webpage, including agendas, minutes and other pertinent information.

Open Meetings
All meetings of the Frederick County Charter Board were open to the public and media.  Meetings were televised on FCG TV, cable channel 19, and webcast on

For further information, contact Legislative Coordinator Ragen Cherney at 301-600-1049 or via email. Send inquiries or information to all members of the Charter Board at Email Charter Board.   

                                              * * Legal Disclaimer * *