Board of Zoning Appeals

Zoning members
Board of Appeals Members from left to right: Donald Miller- Secretary, Mike Bowersox, John Greenwell - Chair; (not pictured Earl Bell - Vice Chair), Kenneth Farrell, Shannon Bohrer- Alternate Member.

Board of Appeals Background

The Frederick County Board of Zoning Appeals was established in conjunction with the original Zoning Ordinance in 1959. The County Council appoints the 5 members and 1 alternate who serve staggered 3-year terms. The Board adopts its own administrative procedures and has the following powers:

  • To hear and decide appeals where it is alleged there is an error in any order, requirement, decision or determination made by an administrative official in the enforcement of the Zoning Ordinance.
  • To hear and decide special exceptions authorized in the Zoning Ordinance
  • To authorize, upon appeal in specific cases, a variance from the terms of the Zoning Ordinance
The Board of Zoning Appeals meets on the fourth Thursday of every month at 7:00 p.m. at Winchester Hall unless otherwise noted on the filing deadlines or by the chair. For more information, contact the Division of Planning and Permitting, 301-600-1153.