Frederick County Planning Commission


  • 9:30 a.m.
  • 2nd Wednesday of each month
  • As necessary on the 3rd and 4th Wednesdays
  • Winchester Hall
    12 E. Church St.
    1st Floor Hearing Room
    Frederick, MD
Meetings are televised live on Cable channel 19, FCG TV.  Archived videos are also available on the FCG TV link.

Contact the Planning Commission

To submit comments to the Commission members, you may email FCPC members.

About the Commission

The Planning Commission was established in July 1955 and consists of 7 members nominated by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council for 5-year terms.  The Planning Commission has final authority in approving site plans, subdivision plats, modifications to the subdivision regulations, and determination for Adequate Public Facilities (APFO). The Commission also has an advisory and recommending role to the County Council on items such as text amendments, rezonings and comprehensive plans. 
Planning Commission Rules of Procedures (PDF), adopted September 13, 2017.

Current Members (as of July 2018)
Bob White, Chair
Carole Sepe, Vice-Chair
Sharon Suarez, Secretary
Sam Tressler III
Craig Hicks
Terry Bowie
Joel Rensberger

Providing Public Testimony

The public may provide testimony for any item on an agenda. Individuals are allotted 3 minutes and recognized organizations 10 minutes for each agenda item. Written comments must be submitted to the Planning and Permitting Division at least 48-hours in advance of the Commission meeting in order to be considered by the Commission.

Recognized organizations must provide to the Planning and Permitting Division a copy of its bylaws which must be adopted 90 days prior to the commission meeting, and a formally executed resolution from their board of director authorizing that person(s) speaking on behalf of the organization for that matter.