Sustainable Action Plan for County Operations

A 32-member team of Frederick County government employees produced this action plan adopted unanimously (5-0) by the Board of County Commissioners on August 26, 2010. The plan aims to integrate sustainable practices into county operations and decision-making processes.

Action Plan logo.png
Action Plan

The plan addresses 7 areas:
  • Leading by example
  • Conserving energy and reducing emissions
  • Implementing green building practices
  • Making green purchasing decisions
  • Protecting green infrastructures
  • Recycling and reducing waste
  • Choosing transportation alternatives
Quarterly reports on the Sustainable Action Plan are provided to the County Manager by the Sustainability Director. Annual reports are provided to the Frederick County Sustainability Commission, which then forwards a recommendation to accompany the presentation to the Frederick Board of County Commissioners.

Represented Areas
Sustainable Action Team members represent:
  • Animal Control
  • Citizens Care and Rehab
  • Citizens Services
  • County Attorney's Office
  • County Manager's Office
  • Economic Development
  • Emergency Management
  • Finance
  • Fire and Rescue Services
  • Public Libraries
  • Health Services
  • Human Resources
  • IIT
  • Management Services
  • Montevue Home
  • Public Schools
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Permitting and Development Review
  • Planning
  • Public Works
  • Transit Services
  • U-MD Extension
  • Utilities and Solid Waste