Recruit Class 20

(Frederick, MD, April 7, 2017) The Frederick County Division of Fire and Rescue Services welcomed 23 new members to the Department on Friday evening.  The ceremony was held at the Jack B. Kussmaul Theater on the Frederick Community College Campus.

The 28-week academy began on September 26, 2016. The firefighters participated in over 810 hours of coursework which included: Emergency Medical Technician, Emergency Vehicle Operator, Firefighter I, Firefighter II, Hazardous Materials Operations, Rescue Technician - Site Operations and Vehicle Machinery Rescue, Firefighter Safety and Survival, Truck Company Operations and Child Passenger Safety Technician. Recruit Class 20’s class valedictorian is Charles “Chad” Hannaby.  Chad averaged a 94.4% on his academics.  The class average was 87.98%. RC20 also enjoyed participating in physical fitness activities. The class collectively lost 235 pounds throughout the academy.  Class PT scores increased an average of 17% per recruit from their initial fitness test scoring.

The class motto was “Razor Sharp” which represents 23 well-trained, disciplined firefighters of high moral character that are knowledgeable and capable of making sound, educated decisions in their professional and personal lives.  RC20 is comprised of individuals with varying prior work experience from a Maryland State Trooper to a civil engineer.  Three served in the armed forces, including an Army Ranger, a Marine Artilleryman and an Air Force Maintenance Technician.  The class was led by Platoon Leader Timothy Pannebaker (Technician Jeff’s brother), Squad Leaders John Coppola, Ethan Hundertmark and Jeffry Redding. Recruit Class 20 members are: Steven Barcenas, Daniel Clipp, John Coppola, Benjamin Eddowes, Christopher Folster, Holden Fong, Cody Green, Alexander Hall, John Hall, Charles Hannaby, Charles Henline III, Michael Herrod, Todd Hirsch, Ethan Hundertmark, Zackary Kline, Cesar Lopez, James McCartin III, Timothy McKenna, Ronald Nagle, Timothy Pannebaker, Jeffry Redding, Jarod Seitz and Joshua Ziegler.  Some of the rookie firefighters began their station assignments the day after graduation.

The Recruit Class Coordinator was Lieutenant Robert McCaa and lead instructors included Battalion Chief Troy Grossnickle, Captain’s Seth Edwards, Joshua Laird, Jeffrey Shippey, Steven Schultz, Lieutenants Jared Brown, Kathleen Harne, Keith Hubble, Michael Webb, Firefighter’s David Hubler, Larry Kessler, Adam Miller and Malgorzata Nowaczyk.  The Training Academy is managed by Battalion Chief Daniel Healy and Captain Lenne Stolberg.

Enjoy the graduation video below!