It is time to renew your alcoholic beverage license for 2020. Listed immediately below are two special notes we would like to bring to your attention. If you have any questions on these items, please contact the office. Below the special notes are important deadline dates and instructions for your renewal.
FREDERICK COUNTY RESIDENT NO LONGER A REQUIREMENT
If you wish to remove the 2-year Frederick County Resident from the license, and if remaining licensees do not reside in the State of Maryland, you shall designate an agent who resides in the State of Maryland to accept service of process, notices and all other communications from the Board. The applicant must provide the agent’s personal information, including the agent’s name, address, telephone number and email address. It is the licensee’s responsibility to notify the Board of any changes to this information within 30 days. If you decide to make this change, please contact the office for assistance.
Licensees no longer have to submit alcohol awareness certificates to the Board. It is now the licensee’s responsibility to keep copies of all alcohol awareness certificates on site, available and accessible to inspectors at all times.
2020 RENEWAL: It is time to renew your alcoholic beverages license for 2020.
You must submit your application to the Board between Monday, March 2, 2020, and 3:30 pm on Wednesday, April 1, 2020.
State law does not allow the Board to accept application prior to March 2, 2020.
You can now file your completed renewal application, with signatures, via email, or fax, or you can hand carried to the Board. Applications may be filed by email starting Monday, March 2, 2020.
If you would like assistance from staff, please call 301-600-2984 to schedule an appointment.
Please, try to submit your renewal application as soon as possible so there is sufficient time to resolve any problems.
If you submit your renewal application by email or fax,
Staff will send an email to confirm that your renewal application has been accepted or alert you that the application needs to be revised.
Once accepted, staff will provide the link (also on the Board's website) to pay the $100 processing fee online by credit card or online check.
Credit cards are charged a 2.5% processing fee.
Online checks are charged a flat fee of $1.49.
Checks may also be mailed in or hand delivered.
Please DO NOT make your payment until you are notified that the Board has accepted your renewal application.
If you submit your renewal application in person,
Bring a check or money order for the $100 processing fee.
YOUR RENEWAL WILL BE CONSIDERED FILED ONCE YOUR PAYMENT IS RECEIVED.
Hand delivery to 12 E Church Street, Frederick, MD 21701
ADDITIONAL RENEWAL INFORMATION
If your current lease expires on or after April 30, 2021, you DO NOT NEED your landlord's signature, but you will need to fill out #6, Section A on the 2nd page of the application.
If your lease expires before April 30, 2021, or if you own the property, the landlord/owner of the premises must fill out and sign #6, Section B on the 2nd page of the application.
If you have additional permits (e.g., patio, tasting, Sunday, etc.) there are NO additional forms for you to compete this year. On the last page you either:
Check that you want NO CHANGES or
Check REMOVE and show which permits you wish to have removed.
CLASS B ONLY-FOOD/ALCOHOL RATIO
Class B Licensees are NO LONGER required to complete the Food/Alcohol Ration form. Instead, all Class B licensees must complete #9
SIGNATURES OF LICENSEES
All licensees must sign the very back on lines A, B, and C. If your entity is a corporation, the president must sign on line D.
If you are delinquent in any taxes, the State Comptroller's Office will place a hold on your license renewal. You should work with the Comptroller's Office to resolve the delinquency as soon as possible. The license will not be renewed until the Comptroller's Office notifies the Board that the hold has been lifted.
CERTIFICATE OF STATUS/GOOD STANDING (YOU DO NOT NEED TO PAY FOR OR OBTAIN THE CERTIFICATE)
All Corporations, LLC and Clubs must be in Good Standing.
Staff will verify your status-You no longer have to provide a copy of the certificate of Good Standing.
The Board cannot renew your license until your business is in Good Standing.
FEDERAL TAX STAMP
This is a reminder that you should file for renewal of the Federal Tax Stamp with the Internal Revenue Service by July 1, 2020. A renewal should be mailed to you by the IRS. There is no fee for the Federal Tax Stamp.
PAYMENT OF LICENSE
You may pay for your license online:
Between Wednesday, April 1, 2020 and Tuesday, April 14, 2020.
Click here to be directed to the online payment center.
If paying in person by check or money order, bring in your payment between Wednesday, April 15, 2020 and Friday, May 1, 2020.
PICK UP THE NEW LICENSE
Starting Wednesday, April 15, 2020 through Friday, May 1, 2020,
Bring a check or money order if you did NOT pay online.
Renewal applications not submitted prior to Thursday April 2, 2020, will be assessed a $100 fine for each day the application is late, including weekends and holidays.
Renewal licenses that are not picked up and paid for by Friday, May 1, 2020, will be assessed a late fine of $100 for each day it is late, including weekends and holidays, beginning Saturday, May 2, 2020.
If you do not pick up your license by April 30, 2020, all alcoholic beverage sales and distributions must cease at midnight, April 30, 2020, until the license is paid for and issued.