Sustainability Commission

Commission Overview

In order to engage the community and learn from the diversity of voices present in Frederick County, the County established the Sustainability Commission in 2009. The commission provides a community-based perspective on issues related to sustainability and guides the development of a Frederick County Sustainability Plan.

Mission Statement (adopted  March 2016)

The Frederick County Sustainability Commission represents the natural environment’s critical relevance in making community decisions that will sustain for all time a healthy, abundant, affordable, and inspiring place to live and work.


The Frederick County Sustainability Commission meets virtually (unless otherwise specified a meeting agenda) on the 3rd Wednesday of each month, from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

  • To participate and make a public comment during a live meeting, please call 855-925-2801 and enter code 9744. Press * for options
  • You can also watch the livestream and leave a text comment during a meeting at our Public Input Portal.


Faith Klareich, Chair

Nathan Pool, Vice Chair

Jennifer Bird , Secretary

Janet Ady 

Laurie Jenkins

Amy Rembold

Mark Sankey

William Steigelmann

Renee Knapp, Frederick County Council liaison

Tiara Lester,  D.E.E. Staff liaison

Members of the Sustainability Commission pictured in a meeting room.