2019 Sustainability Awards

The Frederick County Sustainability Commission is accepting nominations for its 2019 Sustainability Awards to recognize individuals and organizations in Frederick County that have made an outstanding contribution in helping the county advance sustainability efforts. Awards are presented based on demonstrated leadership, innovation and success in sustainability.

Awards are available to (a) Individuals, (b) Nonprofits and (c) Commercial Enterprises for efforts such as:

  • Energy efficiency
  • Renewable energy 
  • Air and water quality 
  • Reuse and recycle
  • Quality of life
  • And more…!

2019 Sustainability Awards Nomination Forms

Nomination forms are available to download here:  IndividualNonprofit, Commercial Enterprise

Electronic submissions are preferred.  Email to: dashbacher@frederickcountymd.gov.  Applications may also be mailed to Dawn Ashbacher, Sustainability Program Manager, Office of Sustainability and Environmental Resources, 30 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701, or faxed to 301.600.2054.  

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on February 14, 2019

Winners of the 2019 Sustainability Awards will be recognized at the 8th Annual Green Homes Challenge Recognition Event on March 28, 2019.  

Questions?  Contact Dawn Ashbacher at dashbacher@frederickcountymd.gov or 301.600.6864.

FCSC Winners

2018 Sustainability Awards

County Executive Jan H. Gardner and Frederick County Sustainability Commission Chair Ronald Kaltenbaugh presented the 2018 Sustainability Awards to the following winners at the 7th Annual Green Homes Challenge Recognition Event:

Stream-Link Education — Stream-Link Education is a nonprofit  organization whose mission is to connect community to conservation by organizing volunteer tree planting  experiences to promote environmental awareness. 

Ron Holter - Holterholm Farms - Ron, a pioneer in the Regenerative Agriculture and Holistic Management movements, converted Holterholm Farm, his family's 6th-generation, conventional dairy farm, to an all-organic farm.