2021 Sustainability Awards

The Frederick County Sustainability Awards  recognize individuals and organizations in Frederick County that have made an outstanding contribution in helping the county advance sustainability efforts. Awards are based on demonstrated leadership, innovation and success in sustainability. 

Awards are available to (a) Individuals (non-students), (b) Students/Student Groups, (c) Nonprofits and (d) Commercial Enterprises for efforts such as:

  • Energy efficiency
  • Renewable energy 
  • Air and water quality 
  • Reuse and recycle
  • Quality of life
  • And more…!

Due to the pandemic, the 2020 Sustainability Award winners were not able to be recognized.   Winners of the 2020 and 2021 Sustainability Awards were recognized by County Executive Jan H. Gardner and the Frederick County Sustainability Commission during a virtual ceremony on October 14, 2021.   The recorded event is available to watch on FCG-TV.

Congratulations to the following award winners:

2021 Award Winners

Non Profit Category - Frederick Arts Council's Sky Stage for transforming a boarded pre-Revolutionary War building in downtown historic Frederick into building-scale public art and a center for arts and culture.

Commercial Category - District Farms for using a breakthrough, computer-controlled hydroponic growing system for leafy greens that leads to reduced CO2 emissions, 95% less water use than conventionally-grown leafy greens, and zero use of pesticides and herbicides.

Individual Category -  Lawrence "Jake" Romanell for leading numerous New Market green efforts as a resident and Town Council member and fostering community engagement. Results of his efforts include an electric vehicle charging station at Town Hall, a pond conversion project that purifies stormwater runoff and increases tree cover, safe walking trails, a New Market Girl Scout compost bin project, and rain barrel and composting workshops.

Student Category - Jordan Heyrend for creating and leading a project to collect old coats and jackets and distribute them to those in need in Frederick County.

2020  Award Winners

Non Profit Category - Habitat for Humanity ReStore for offering a place to donate and resell quality furnishings to keep them out of landfills and using proceeds to provide homes for low-income families.

Commercial Category - Key City Compost for leading environmentally progressive waste management efforts and founding Frederick County’s first commercial composting business.

Individual Category - Joyce Tuten for being a passionate climate change educator and advocate and enthusiastic member of the Middletown Sustainability Committee

Student Category - Ember Carrera for being a waste diversion advocate and pioneering a waste management initiative with students at Urbana High School to divert compost, liquids, and recycling from the landfill

 Click here for information about the 2019 Sustainability Award winners and others from the past.

2022 Sustainability Awards

Stay tuned for details about our 2022 Sustainability Awards!   Questions?  Contact Dawn Ashbacher at dashbacher@frederickcountymd.gov or 301.600.6864.