Raving About Women


Frederick County Commission for Women "Raving About Women" Awards Party

Here we are! Another year and another Party to celebrate amazing women! We have changed the "Leadership Alliance Dinner" to "Raving About Women Party"! There will be cocktails, horderves, desserts and maybe some dancing! Wear whatever makes you feel comfortable. Party dress you have been waiting to wear or jeans! 

We will be honoring an exceptional woman and an organization. Some quick recognition of people that make our Commission successful in our ventures to improve Frederick County for Women. 

Thursday, March 21, 2019 from 6:30 PM to 9:00 PM EDT

Ceresville Mansion
8529 Liberty Road
Frederick, MD 21701

Register Here!

The Frederick County Commission for Women Organization of the Year is a Frederick County organization that that promotes the mission of the FCCFW, which is to create a stronger community by addressing challenges and fostering unlimited opportunities for all women.  This is an organization that has demonstrated a commitment to helping women in Frederick county by holding educational events, spreading awareness, and/or advocating for policies that benefit women.

The Frederick County Commission for Women (FCCFW) Woman of the Year is an established or emerging Frederick County leader who has demonstrated a commitment to promoting the mission of the FCCFW, which is to create a stronger community by addressing challenges and fostering unlimited opportunities for all women. 

Past Award Recipients

2019 Organization of the Year - Frederick County Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
2019 Woman of the Year - Serina Roy
2018 Woman of Excellence - Cynthia Terl
2018 Outstanding Student Leadership - Katelyn McMorrow
2018 Unsung Hero - Maura Page
2017 Woman of Excellence -MaryLynn Hinde, Director of Operations, SHIP of Frederick County
2017 Woman of Excellence - Mary Ellen Mitchel, Director of Community Relations, Interfaith Housing Alliance
2017 Student Leadership - Valery Kate Perez, Urbana High School
2017 Unsung Hero - Paula Del Valle‐Torres, Hood College
2016 Woman of Excellence - Elizabeth Chung, Executive Director of the Asian American Center of Frederick
2015 Woman of Excellence - Lisa Ausherman, Co‐Founder and Chair of the Ausherman Family Foundation
2015 Outstanding Student Leadership - Tyla Massey, Frederick Community College
2015 Unsung Hero - Viv Wayne, FCCW Volunteer and Founder and CEO of 4Ever Bloom
2014 Woman of Excellence - Yvonne Reinsch, Community Leader and Volunteer
2014 Woman of Excellence - Angela Spencer, Chair of the Frederick County Human Relations Commission
2014 Outstanding Student Leadership -Gabriela Roque, Frederick Community College Student
2014 Unsung Hero - Teresa Smith, FCCFW Volunteer and Fort Detrick Employee
2013 Woman of Excellence  - Patti Hurwitz, Founder of Frederick Memorial Hospital Hurwitz Breast Cancer Fund
2013 Outstanding Student Leadership Award - Vanessa Perez, Oakdale High School Student
2012 Woman of Excellence - Karlys Kline, Founder of the Women’s Giving Circle of Frederick County
2012 Outstanding Student Leadership - Chloe Scott, Frederick High School Student
2011 Woman of Excellence - Margaret Nusbaum, Director of Frederick County Citizen Services
2011 Outstanding Student Leadership - Kaitlin Morgan, Linganore High School Student
2010 Woman of Excellence - Dr. Bonita Portier, Founder of Emmitsburg Osteopathic Primary Care Center
2009 Woman of Excellence - Jan Gardner, Former President of the Board of Commissioners, 2006‐2010
2008 Woman of Excellence - Sandra West, Founder of FCCFW
2008 Woman of Excellence - Gail Pate, Founder and First President of FCCFW
2007 Woman of Excellence - Debbie Thompson Brown, World Record Holder & Tokyo U.S Olympic Team Member
2007 Woman of Excellence - Tammy Davis Thompson, Frederick Athlete and World Record Holder
2007 Woman of Excellence - Carol Smith Wilcom, Frederick’s First Female Athletic Director
2006 Woman of Excellence - Dixie Miller, Former Board of Trustees and Founder of FCCFW
2006 Emma Josephine Smith Award - Darlene Aulls
2005 Woman of Excellence - Dr. Patricia Stanley, Former FCC President
2005 Woman of Excellence - Linda Burgee, Former Superintendent of FCPS