LIQUOR LAWS &

NONPROFITS
IN FREDERICK COUNTY




In the Beginning...
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Prohibition was repealed on December 5, 1933, which allowed each state S
to set its own consumption laws.

Maryland has a 3-tier system. The state licenses the first 2 tiers;
manufacturers and wholesalers. County Liquor Boards license the 3 tier;
retailers (sales i.e. stores, restaurants, and one-day licenses)

Alcohol laws are passed in legislation. County Liquor Boards may then
make regulations or policies that tighten those laws that are passed but,
may not waive or make them more lenient. County Liquor Boards may
ask for laws to be changed for just their jurisdiction through the Maryland

General Assembly.
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Frederick County’s Liquor Board started as a one member board
The board increased to 3 members in 1985.
Board members are appointed to 5 year terms by the Governor.

The process starts with an application that is applied for on line via the
Governor’s appointments website.

Recommendation letters are also submitted on behalf of the applicant which
can be submitted by anyone but mainly come from Senators.

As of today, Frederick County Liquor Board licenses 331 establishments and have
issued 369 Special One-Day Licenses.




Frederick County Liguor Board-Staff

Regulates the SALE of Alcohol

Chair Debbie Burrell Bob Shrum, Inspector
Board Member Frank Davis Bob Lind, Inspector
Board Member Joan Aquilino Ashley Sklarew, Administrative Specialist

Penny Bussard, Coordinator Dawn Shugars, Administrative Specialist



A Special One-Day license Is required:

Cash Bar
Included in the price of a ticket/entry fee (set fee or donation)
For purchase of a ticket/token to exchange for an alcoholic beverage

An event where everything is free, BUT a donation of any amount is
required.




BYOB events

Wedding reception or open house type of events where the host is
providing all the alcoholic beverages, and no fee of any type is being
charged.




Reqguirements to apply
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May have one or more

Alcohol Awareness Certified Person

Must have at the minimum one person certified at all times during the event



Applicant(s)

Requirements

2-Year Frederick County resident
Registered voter

Cannot be a convicted felon

Cannot be financially interested in any other place of business in Frederick
County were a license has been applied for, granted or issued.

At least one of the applicants must be at the event (if only one applicant,
must be at the event in its entirety).

Not permitted to consume alcohol at the event

Assumes responsibility for the event.



Alcohol Awareness

At least one person at the event must have Alcohol Awareness Training.

There are several State approved courses: TIPS, TAM, BEST, John Murray,
Maryland BEST, etc.

FCLB offers reduced cost TIPS classes for $30 twice a month.
Certifications are valid for 4 years.

This person(s) is not permitted to consume alcohol at the event.
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http://www.frederickcountymd.gov/Liquor

Submit Applications at least two

weeks prior to the event.

FREDERICK COUNTY SPECIAL LICENSE
APPLICATION FOF. CLASS C SPECIAL LICENSE

First time applicants most subimit the Sllowing items: (This is only for the firal Heense. not subsequent licenses)
~Constifution end by-laws showing that the organizasion is non-profit. (Exenypt Statas 501c 3))
“Federal Tax ID Cerificate (Exenption from federal income tax as provided for i 501c (3))
ATl applications must submit the folloving:
~Application conypleted by 3 Fraderick Comnry resident of o years and a registered voter.
~Aff davit complated and signed by the applicant
~Appropriate fes (parsonal check, company check monay order (made paysble to Treasurer of Frederick Counry
ar cash (exact change only).
~Affdavit complated and signed by Landlord [Chanwm svar icense

CHECK ONE: |_|CLUB (MOMPROFTT) Docrm{ D.%soaamn
TYPE OF LICENSE REQUESTED:
|:|Beu Oy $10.00/day |:|Beerand1.ighwine - $10.00 /day Dw Wine end Liquor - $30.00/day
APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED WITHOUT 2 WEEKS NOTICE ARE SUBJECT TO A LATE FEE WITH APPLICATION FEE

Dare(s) of Evenr: Times: Rain Dare:
NAME OF ORGANIZATION:

ADDRESS OF ORGANIZATION:

NAME OF APPLICANT: PHONE: CELL:

ADDRESS:

EMAIL ALCOHOL AWARENESS: Name Em:
EIRTHEDATE: COUNTRY OF BIRTH:

NATURALTZED AT {1f not born a US Citizen) YEAR:

PERIOD OF RESIDENCY IN FREDERICE COUNTY: FREDERICK COUNTY REGISTERED VDTER.DY(S D‘IU

TYPE OF EVENT: (Fundraiser, Crabfeast, etc)

PROVIDING SPECIAL E\."ENTBUI'TLESDYES D\L‘

NAME AND ADDRESS WHERE EVENT WILL BE HELD:

IS A PERMIT REQUIRED BY !\-ILTJC'JPA.LITY'LUL‘I\TYD'( ] Du (astach if applicable)

DESCRIPTION OF PREMISES: (Please attach a diagram of the event):

EVENT NAME:

OWNER OF FACILITY (Wame and Address).

HOURSOFEVENT.
ESTIMATED # OF ATTENDEES: radoce

HOURS OF ALCOHOL SERVICE:
.

WiLL THERE BE ENTERTARDENTL |ves [ ho  Houms oF ENTERTATRENT.

TYPE OF ENTERTAINMENT:

CATERER/FOOD VENDOE.

NAME: PHONEZ EMAL:
NAME: PHONEZ: EMAL:

WILL A BREWERY/WINERY DISTILLERY BE INVOLVED WrTH e =vENT v Aty War: [ves e

1£ 50, please artach.a seperate sheet listing each brewery winery) stillery and explsin how they are involved with the event and atiach

nacessary parmt.

TYPE OF ADVERTISING:_|Rae [ | Fiyer Tnternet [ | Oer
(4 copy of imitaricR. Fver. any Frowmotion asKOTRHed with thEE Event, st be submitied with thiz application)

'WILL THE APPLICANT USE SERVICES OF A PROMOTER OR. OTHER PERSON TO MANAGE THIS EVENT. [JYES [INO

IF YES, NAME: PHONE-:

WILL THERE BE HIRED SE('UBITYD Bs[ Jo

A Securtty Plan i required for all outdoor events oo any mdoor event haning move than 300 people ar mave daily. See anached sample
aof securiy pin.

IF YES, SECURITY COMPANY NAME:

CONTACT: PHONE:

NUMEEE. OF SECURITY PERSONNEL PROVIDED AT THIS EVENT.

ALCOHOL PLAN: Al gvents must submit an alcohol plan. (Thiz can ba included in WW{I Plan). This plan should mnclude how

sou will be serving selling alcohal (Bartender, sectianed off boer sanden, &z who will be chacking 1D, haw drinks willbe sald fickets,
cash ba, e, {funder 21 persons ave allowed to artend event, how will they be differentiated between thase who ave 21 years old and over.
IF NEEDED, PLEASE ATTACH A SEPARATE SHEET. *Sec anached Sketch Check List

Dare Signsmure of Applicant

In

BOARD OF LICENSES COMMISSIONERS
FOR. FREDERICKE COUNTY

CLASS C SPECIAL TEMPORARY LICENSE

applying for this specia] temporary license it s important that you realize the responsibility associated with the issuance of the

license. All persons ar gromps using this license as authorized under Section 7-101 of Article 2B of the Annotted Code of Maryland are
required to enstre compliance with all the Laws and rules relating to the sale of alcoholic beverages. Special notics should be taken of the
Following.

All persons mmst be 21 years of age fo purclase alcobolic baverages.

Al sales rost stop prompety at 2:00 am.

No imoxicated person may be served any elcoholic bevermge

o unnecessary noise or distrbance that could be s muisance to the commmmity shall occur

‘The person responsible for the fimetion mmst see that forder is kept ar a1l fimes

‘The applicent i & Frederick Comnty resident of two years and a registered voter

The spplicant bos ot been convicted of a feloay.

‘The applicent bos not had a license for clooholic beverages denied of revokied.

‘The spplicant is not Snancially interested in anry other place of business in Frederick County where, or for which a license bad.
been applied for, granted or issued under Article 2B.

‘The applicant agrees to purchase alcobol fom a licensad Frederick Counry vendar.

The license mst be refumed to the Board along with the seceipts of where the alcabol was purchased within 30 days of the event
I£ in the Board's discretion, the event is a threat to the health, peace and safety of the neighborbood, the license will be denied.
I£ in the Board's discretion. the organization sbuses the privilege of the livense or has requested an inordinate mumber of licenses,
the license will be demied.

The spplicant will, if granted o license, conform 10 51l lsws and ragulations relsting ro the business in which the spplicant
Proposes 1o enzage.

Applicant bos not been adjudzed muilty of violaring the Laws governing the sale of slcobolic beverages within the Unied States or
for the prevention of gambling in the State of Maryland, or adfudzed sty of any offense against the lzws of the State of
Maryland ot of the United Stares.

The Compiroler, the Compiroller’s duly authorized depusies, inspectors and clerks, the Liquor Board for the aforesaid Cownty, its
duly awthorized agents and errployees, and any peace offices of such county, can inspact and search, without marrant, the
‘prentises upon which the business is fo b condncted, and any and all parts of the building in which said business s to be
conducted, at any and all hows.

Signature of Applicant (Notarized) Printed Name of Applicant
STATE OF MARYLAND, COUNTY OF s
This certfies thaton the ____day of L20___ Before me the subscriber, a Notay Public of the State of
Maryland, aforesaid, personally appeared, indne form
of aw hat e is the Gl authorized ageus foc the afbressi non-profit organizafion, social cla, seciety or association.
(Motary Sizmanre)
My commission expires: (SEAL)

SIGNED NOTARIZED LANDLOED FORM
STATEMENT OF OWNER. OF PREMISES REQUIRED IN CONNECTION WITH ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES LAW OF MARYLAND

(I WE) hereby certify, that (T am, we are) the ownex(s) of property know as:

(Property owner name/Entity)

{(Complete Name and Address of Property Required)

nsmed in the foregoing spplication made to the aforesaid licensing autbarity for said county mder the Alcobolic Bevesages Law of

Merylend: ther (I, We) assent to the granting of & spacial license applied for, end ther (I, We) hereby uthorize the Stete Comprroller, the

Comproller’s duly antharized depiies, mspectors zad clerks, the Frederick County Liquor Board, fs duly anthorized ageats aad
employees, and any peace officer such county to inspect and sewsch, without warrant, the premises upon which the business is to be
conducted, and any and all parts of the building in which said evexr is to be condhucted, at any and all howrs

WITNESS (O, My) band(s) end seel this day of 20

(Authorized Property Qwaer's Signature)

STATE OF MARYLAND, Counry of 55:

THIS CERTIFIES, That on the day of 20,

Notary Public of the State of Maryland, personally appearad_

. before the subscriber, o

and acknowladzed the execution of the foragoing satement 1o be 3 trus act

(SEAD) oty Sizmanse)

My enpires:

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:

BOARD AFFROVAL.

ZONING APPROVAL:

FIRE MARSHAL APFROVAL.

HEALTHDPT. AFFROVAL:

ADDITIONAL PERMITS/APFROVAL:




Diagram

The following items are required to be shown and indicated on Diagrams submitted to the Liquor Board. Please
use this as a check list.

Building Outlines
Entrance/Exit Locations (all points)
Approximate room(s) with dimensions or Area with dimensions (if outside)
Security Camera Locations (if applicable)
Table/Seating on diagram with number of chairs at each table
Outside Seating/Beer Garden Area
Height/Type/Location of Enclosure
Access Points

Table/Seating on diagram with number of chairs at each table

Vendor cars (wine, foad, band)

Brawer's Food
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D I ag ram continued

Alcohol must be contained in the licensed area
Outdoor areas must have a 42” Barrier

Recommended to place signs on exit ways “No Alcohol Allowed Beyond

this Point™
3 .

NO
ALCOHOL
ALLOWED

BEYOND
THIS POINT




Alcohol Plan

How will alcohol be served/sold?
Who will be checking ids?
Who will monitor the crowd

If person under 21 are allowed to
attend, how will they be differentiated
between those who are 21 years old
and over?

Alcohol Plan 2018:

Alcohol (beer and light wine) will be sold in a fenced-off outdoor beer garden that requires participants
to be 21 or older to enter. Alcohaol will be restricted to the fenced-off area and no alcohol consumption
will occur outside of the fencing. Participants are required to stay in the fenced-off area with any
alcohol. No alcohol will be served, opened, or consumed before or after the times of the liquor license.
Volunteers_ will pour alcohol for customers. There will be a fee of
S5 at the gate. Participants are charged separately for tokens that can be exchanged for one glass or
beer or wine per person at a time. Security guards will arrive before the event attendees and will assist
with clearing the area of attendees as soon as the event ends. All IDs will be checked by a TIPS certified
security guard. At least one TIPS trained person will be on site to staff each event. Two additional
security guards will be present at all times to help event staff monitor for intoxication and to ensure all
event guests are safe and acting responsibly.



Outdoor Events

If iInclement weather could affect event set-up,
submit a back-up Diagram and Alcohol Plan
W|th the orlglnal appllcatlon




Approvals

Liquor Board (Pre-Event Meeting may be required)
Zoning
Permits

Health Department @ :

Fire Marshal

Approvals may be required from the partnering agencies listed above. (>

The agencies are notified by FCLB staff during processing.
It is recommended to email your application once completed (even before obtaining signatures),

This allows staff to send out notices to the partnering agencies and this eliminates additional visit to FCLB.

If approvals are NOT needed, skip to the next step.



Payment/Pick Up of License

ttps://www.frederickcountymd.gov/1291/Liquor-Board
After all agencies approvals are
compete, FCLB staff will email

applicants that the license is ready for Frederick County
paymen t an d p|Ck Up. (Tl.:l'l...-[-"rr'|]Il{"['I'___-1.-"'I{_I._i-__-_:_1[_I|'J".Il|.tl Rich History, Bright Fulure

Payment can be made: Government Departments Services Comu
Online by credit card or e-check

Office by credit card or check

Application with original signatures
must be brought in at this time

« ONLINE PAYMENTS nt» Allied Agencies » Liguor Board
Once payment is received license is Mission/Customer Service
issued. " Promise Liquor Board

« Applications

Special "One-Day” Licenses
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Regulations
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Alcohol can only be sold for on-site consumption, (prior to two days before the event).

License must be fully utilized, (some of each).
Adhere to hours printed on the license.

Alcohol cannot be advertised as “free”, alternative wording “included in the cost of
the ticket”, “two for the price of one”

Sell/Give/Raffle chances on any bottle containing alcoholic beverage is prohibited

The only exception is if the non-profit has applied for and received a Charity Wine Auction
permit from the state.

Performers/Band Members/DJs & etc cannot consume alcohol while performing.
Alcohol can be consumed on breaks or in between sets at an area away from the
stage/performance area



Alcohol Requirements

Beer and Wine (state law)
Must be purchased from a retailer in Frederick County; or,

A wholesaler licensed to sell Beer and Wine in Frederick County

Liquor (state law)

Must be purchased from a retailer in Frederick County.

Remember to ask for an itemized receipt from the retailer or wholesaler

Receipts must be available for the inspectors to review at the event.

It is recommended to staple the receipts to the back of the license.



Alcohol RequirementScormne

Alcohol cannot be stored on the premises.
Alcohol may be purchased no more than two days prior to an event.

Alcohol may be returned to the retailer or wholesale within two days after
the event.

Alcohol may go home with the licensee, for personal consumption

Alcohol may not be re-used for another event.



Maryland Driver’s License

Maryland Identification Card

Military ID
USA Passport




Promoter’s License

Required for a “for-profit” organization for an event held in conjunction
with a special “One-Day” License.

The license shall be approved by the Board before the organization may
publicize, sell tickets, organize, operate, produce, or stage an event
where alcoholic beverage are sold

Contact staff if you need a promoter’s license



Multl-Event

If you are having multiple events throughout a calendar year, at the same
location, and with the same applicant(s), attach a list of dates, and times

you would like additional licenses. This will eliminate multiple applications

having to be completed throughout the calendar year.

Each person within an organization is limited to 50 licenses per a calendar
year.

Licenses can be requested and picked up any time during the calendar
year. You no longer have to wait until 30 days prior to an event. For
instance in January you can file an application for events happening in
May, August and December. Once they are processed you can pay for
and pick up the license, even if itis only January.



Final Remarks

We are in the midst of reviewing our processes and trying to improve and
streamline efforts.

Expect changes in the future. Changes will be emailed and posted on
our website.

We have an open door policy, feel free to stop in, call or email at any
time.



Contact Information

Email:
Phone:
Website:

Fax:

Location:

LiguorBoard@FrederickCountyMD.gov
301-600-2984
www.FrederickCountyMD.gov/LiquorBoard
301-600-3500

Winchester Hall, 12 E Church Street, Frederick
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