Sustainability Awards Program

The Frederick County Sustainability Commission accepts nominations for its  Sustainability Awards each spring/summer.  Award winners are announced each fall at an annual recognition event. (When dates and details are available, that information is included on this page. You can also follow the Division of Energy and Environment's Facebook page to be informed of this information.)

These awards recognize individuals and organizations in Frederick County that have made an outstanding contribution to helping the county advance its climate and environmental goals. Awards are based on demonstrated leadership, innovation, and success in sustainability.

Awards are made in the following categories:

  • Individuals
  • Students / Student Groups,
  • Nonprofit organizations
  • Businesses with fewer than 50 employees
  • Businesses with 50 or more employees,
  • Industrial

Awardees are recognized for demonstrating leadership in environmental stewardship. Actions include but are not limited to things such as: 

  • Adopting energy efficiency practices.
  • Using or promoting renewable energy. 
  • Protecting or improving air and water quality. 
  • Resource conservation.
  • Recycling and composting.
  • Encouraging sustainable actions at work or in the community.
  • And more!

2022 Award Winners

Color on the Creek (Nonprofit Category) for pioneering measures to improve the water quality of Carroll Creek in an aesthetically pleasing manner.

Pumpernickel + Rye (Commercial Category, fewer than 50 employees) for pioneering a waste management initiative within their business to divert compost and recycling from the landfill, leading to reduced greenhouse gas emissions.

Linganore Winecellers (Commercial Category, 50 or more employees) for utilizing wind and solar power to produce 100% of the power needed to run their operation and provide EV charging stations for customers.

Cindy Poole (Individual Category) for leading numerous Thurmont green efforts as a resident and chairperson of the Thurmont Green Team and fostering community engagement.

Cindy Unangst (Individual Category) for leading numerous Middletown green efforts as a resident and chairperson of the Middletown Green Team and fostering community engagement.

Dhruv K. Girish (Student Category) for pioneering The Scholarly Program which provides support to underprivileged families in learning about sustainable agriculture and the environment.