Charter Government

About the Charter

Frederick County transitioned from the County Commissioner form of government to the County Charter form of government on December 1, 2014. Under Charter Government, there is an Executive Branch with a County Executive and a Legislative Branch with a County Council.

For many years, all five County Commissioners had been elected in at-large elections by all county voters. Under the new Charter Government, the County Executive and only two of the County Council members are elected at-large. 

Robin Charter Board Blank.jpg

County Executive

The County Executive directs, supervises and oversees Frederick County Government departments and agencies, establishes policies and proposes the budget. The County Executive serves a four-year term and not more than two consecutive terms. The salary is $137,000 plus benefits.

County Council

The seven-member County Council consists of five members elected by district and two elected at-large. Council members have the power to initiate legislation. Council meetings are limited to 45 days yearly. County Council members serve for four years and no more than three consecutive terms, and receive $35,000 per year with no benefits. Legislative sessions are limited to 45 days yearly and non-legislative sessions as needed. Click Here to Find Your Council District.

Helpful Links