Charter Review Commission - 2019-2020

Charter Review Commission Photo 2

Charter Review Commission Members (Front Row L to R) Dr. April Miller, Paul Gilligan, Walter Olson, (Back Row L to R) Stephen Slater (Chair), Lisa Jarosinski, John Daniels (Vice Chair), Dylan Diggs

  1. Charter Review Commission

    Ragen Cherney
    Council Chief of Staff

    Charter Review Commission Members
    Email All

    Winchester Hall
    12 East Church Street
    Frederick, MD  21701
    Ph:  301-600-1049
    Fx:  301-600-1849

    Monday - Friday
    8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

On May 28, 2019, the Frederick County Council finalized Resolution No. 19-09 establishing the Frederick County Charter Review Commission.  The Charter Review Commission was tasked to review the Charter and make recommendations for any adjustments.  On June 26, 2019, the first meeting was held.  The Commission was asked to complete their work no later than February 28, 2020. Their purpose was to ensure that the Charter is clear in meaning, addresses the needs of contemporary government, and remain a functional, working document that effectively outlines the framework for the efficient operation of County government.  Their last meeting was held on February 6, 2020.  On March 10, 2020, The Charter Review Commission presented their Final Report to the County Council.

The Council selected seven residents of Frederick County to serve as members of the Commission, including one member from each Council District.  The members of the Commission were as follows:  District 1- Paul Gilligan, District 2- Walter Olson, District 3- Stephen Slater (Chair), District 4- John Daniels (Vice Chair), District 5- Dr. April Miller, and At Large- Lisa Jarosinski and Dylan Diggs.

Charter Review Commission Final Report

Charter Review Commission Proposals

Charter Review Commission Agendas

most recent / view all

Charter Review Commission Minutes

most recent / view all

Charter Review Commission Meeting Videos

Charter Review Commission Pledge



Press Releases


Maryland Charter Counties

Commission Background and Information
Maryland Association of Counties (MACo) County Government Structure