News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/8/2023 2:51:51 PM to 6/30/2023 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

About Frederick - Home

Posted on: June 8, 2023

[ARCHIVED] County Executive Creates Agritourism Workgroup

An orchard of apple trees

Stakeholders to Review Laws, Regulations

FREDERICK, Md. – Recognizing the importance of agriculture to Frederick County’s economy, County Executive Jessica Fitzwater has appointed an Agritourism Workgroup to examine existing laws, regulations and programs related to the growing industry. Meeting dates and locations for the workgroup will be posted to as they are scheduled.

Standing up the workgroup begins to address a recommendation from Administration’s Transition Team, which called for support of Frederick County’s diversifying agricultural economy. The Transition Report recommends updating laws and processes that affect the agriculture industry. 

“We need to modernize our system so our farms, and our farmers, can continue to thrive,” County Executive Fitzwater said. “Farming has changed substantially over the years. Our laws and regulations need not only to catch up, but they need to lay a foundation that will support innovation in the years to come.”

Members of the Agritourism Workgroup will review the County’s existing laws and regulations related to agritourism, review the County’s existing programs to support agritourism, identify major issues related to agritourism, and make recommendations to promote agritourism while protecting the health, safety and quality of life of Frederick County residents. The workgroup is to issue a report to the County Executive and County Council no later than Dec. 1, 2023. 

“I want to thank the County Executive for appointing me to this group,” said Council Member Jerry Donald (District 1), one of two Council Members to serve on the workgroup. “I hope that we can all work together to balance the interest of farmers and the public in this important sector of our economy.”

“Agriculture is the backbone of Frederick County,” said Council Member Mason Carter (District 5), another member of the workgroup. “Working together with stakeholders from across our diverse county will help up better serve the agricultural community and their interests. I look forward to advocating on their behalf.”

In addition to Council Members Donald and Carter, members of the Agritourism Workgroup include:

  • Tom Barse, Milkhouse Brewery
  • Bob Black, Catoctin Mountain Orchard
  • JoAnn Coates-Hunter, Fox Haven Organic Farm
  • Lisa Gaver, Gaver Farm
  • Janna Howley, Grow & Fortify
  • Emma Jagoz, Moon Valley Farm
  • Mehrl Mayne, Mayne’s Tree Farm
  • Tom Mullineaux – Agriculture Business Council
  • Denny Remsburg, Frederick County Farm Bureau
  • Sam Roop, Brookfield Pumpkins
  • Emily Snyder, Rocky Point Creamery
  • Ben Sowers, South Mountain Creamery


Printable version
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in About Frederick - Home


End of Closure at Baltimore Road

Posted on: February 22, 2024 | Last Modified on: February 20, 2018
Headshot of woman smiling with glasses and brown hair

Fitzwater Appoints Kenney as Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer

Posted on: February 20, 2024 | Last Modified on: February 20, 2018