The State of Maryland has banned tires from being disposed in landfills since January 1, 1994. Please note that tires may be brought to our facility, as we collect them in a specially designated area to be processed for recycling through an outside vendor. Because of this, tires cannot be mixed in with a load of regular trash, but must be kept separate.
Per Maryland law, "Those transporting not more than five scrap tires annually are exempt from the requirement to obtain a scrap tire hauler license." This means that an individual resident may bring up to, but not more than, five tires per year to our facility.(Additional information listed below.)
Policies for Participation
If you are interested in disposing of tires in Frederick County, please familiarize yourself with our Scrap Tire Disposal Policies:
Frederick County businesses and residents may dispose up to five tires per calendar year. Anyone bringing in more than this will need to provide a valid Scrap Tire Haulers License number in order to legally dispose of tires through our facility. As this is a State regulation, please contact the Maryland Department of the Environment if you need information on obtaining either a waiver or a Scrap Tire Haulers License. Call 410- 537-3314 or 800-633-6101, extension 3315.
The first five tires are processed at our standard tipping fee rates ($0.69 - $0.76 per twenty pounds of material). More than five tires per year will be charged at the commercial tire hauler rate of $160 per ton.
Tires must be stacked in the designated tire collection trailers, cannot contain waste within them, and will be the only items allowed to be left at the tire collection trailers. Customers must stack tires, laying horizontal/flat, within the tire trailer. Tires cannot be dumped on the ground or thrown into the trailers unstacked.
Scrap tires cannot be mixed in with a load of regular trash, but must be kept separate.
If tires are discovered within a load after a customer/company has dropped off waste at the landfill facility, staff will contact the customer and direct them to immediately return to remove their tires.
If the customer/company does not return to remove the scrap tires as requested, they will be billed our standard rate of $0.69 per 20 pounds (residential) or $160.00 per ton (commercial rate), as well as an additional handling charge of $25.00 per tire.
Due to space limitations, we require permission be obtained prior to delivering loads of 10 or more tires. Please call and leave a message at 301-600-1848. Thank you!
Failure to Abide
Failure to abide by these rules will result in rejection of all future loads of scrap tires from the customer/company in violation by the Department of Solid Waste Management. Please note that it is a requirement of our Secondary Scrap Tire Collection License to report to the Maryland Department of the Environment entities that attempt to deliver more than 5 tires to our facility annually without a valid Scrap Tire Haulers License.